Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Poets and Poems: Sarah Howe and “Loop of Jade”

One of the most prestigious (and financially rewarding) prizes in poetry is the Poetry Book Society’s T.S. Eliot Prize. Founded in 1953 by T.S. Eliot and several friends to “propagate the art of poetry,” the Poetry Book Society is based in the United Kingdom and draws interest from all over the English-Speaking world. The prize, created in 1993, provides 20,000 pounds (about $30,000) to the winner and 1,500 pounds (about $2,250) to each of the other nine shortlisted nominees.

The 2015 shortlist was impressive, including such stellar poets at Mark Doty, Sean O’Brien and Claudia Rankine. All 10 nominees participated in a program of readings in London before the winner was announced.

This year’s winner was Sarah Howe for her first collection of poetry, Loop of Jade. It’s a beautiful collection of 37 poems, filled with precision, imagery, and flat-out beauty.

To continue reading, please see my post today at Tweetspeak Poetry.

Photograph: poet Sarah Howe, winner of the 2015 T.S. Eliot Prize.

No comments: