Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Awards by the Academy of American Poets

In late August, the Academy of American Poets announced the recipients of a number of academy awards, which also carry significant financial stipends (and especially significant for poetry). This year, Richard Hass received the Wallace Stevens Award for mastery in the art of poetry (with a $100,000 check). Tracy Smith received the Fellowship for poetic achievement ($25,000); she won the Pulitzer Prize for poetry in 2011. Rigoberto Gonzalez received the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize for the most outstanding book of poetry published the previous year (Unpeopled Eden) ($25,000).

W.S. Merwin’s Selected Translations won the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award ($1,000). Luigi Bonaffini’s The Bedroom won the Raiziss / DePalci Book Prize ($10,000) for outstanding translation of modern Italian poetry into English. And Wendy Chen won the first Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award ($1,000) for her poem “They Sail Across the Mirrored Sea.”

To continue reading, please see my post today at Tweetspeak Poetry.

No comments: