Monday, January 24, 2022

"Murder for Money" by Roy Lewis

A reporter for a scandal-sheet newspaper is found dead in the entrance hall of the home he was renting in Yorkshire. He’s been beaten to death with a poker. At first, the murderer seems obvious – the outraged common-law husband of a local barmaid.  

But as Inspector John Crow of Scotland Yard investigates, that neat (and easy) solution looks less and less certain. Crow begins to consider why the reporter was in Yorkshire, why had had hired a car and chauffeur to drive him all over the region, and why a local tramp seemed to know more of what was going on than he possibly should.


Roy Lewis

Murder for Money
, the fourth Inspector Crow mystery by Roy Lewis, takes Crow and his assistant Detective Inspector Wilson into the murky area of Nazi war criminals, CIA and British secret agents, and secrets long buried in the past. And that original neat, easy solution to the crime becomes anything but.


Lewis is the author of some 60 other mysteries, novels, and short story collections. His Inspector Crow series includes A Lover Too ManyMurder in the MineThe Woods MurderError of Judgment, and Murder for Money, among others. The Eric Ward series, of which The Sedleigh Hall Murder is the first (and originally published as A Certain Blindness in 1981), includes 17 novels. The Arnold Landon series is comprised of 22 novels. Lewis lives in northern England.  


In this fourth Inspector Crow mystery, Lewis continues to develop his detective, adding more information both about his work, his background, and his private life. The solution to the mystery turns out to be considerably more surprising than the actions of an angry husband.




A Lover Too Many by Roy Lewis.


Error of Judgment by Roy Lewis.

A Cotswolds Murder by Roy Lewis


No comments: